New Permanent Visa To Bring More Skilled Workers To Regional Australia

Australia is offering a great chance to offer PR to those who are single and are planning to reside in the country. Three new visas sub-classes have been launched to promote migration in Regional Australia. The three subclass are given below:

  • Subclass 491 (Skilled Worker Regional Provisional)

  • Subclass 494 (Skilled Employer Sponsored Regional)

  • Subclass 191 (Permanent Residence Skilled Regional)

The subclass 491 will replace the subclass 187 Skilled Regional (Provisional) visa, which has been recently closed.

Subclass 491 is a unique point-tested visa that is designed to promote migration in regional areas of Australia. The people eligible for this visa are those who either have secured a state nomination or a territory nomination or they are being sponsored by a family member already residing in the designated area.

The motive of this visa is to allow Australian employers to employ more and more foreign skilled workers through an Employer-Sponsored and Labour Agreement.

The subclass 191 (Permanent Residence(Skilled Regional)) visa will be operational from 16 November 2022.This visa will only be applicable to those who already have Subclass 491 and Subclass 494 visa. Immigration, Citizenship and Multicultural Affairs issued a statement that states, “The new subclass 191 visa replicates many existing general requirements for permanent residence, and most other visas, including security, health and character requirements.”

Given below are the eligibility criteria for the Subclass 191 visa for the primary applicant aspiring for australia immigration:

  • The applicant must hold a regional provisional visa for the least past three years before applying for the subclass 191.

  • The applicant must have minimum income as per the requirement, as a holder of a regional provisional visa.

  • The applicant must have abide the requirements of the regional provisional visa.

The government also made significant changes in the point-test system that are given below. The applicants can get:

  • Additional 10 points for having STEM qualifications.

  • Up to 10 points for candidates who are single.

  • Up to 10 points for having a skilled spouse or de facto partner.

  • Additional 5 points for applicants with a spouse or de facto partner with competent English-speaking skills.

Points are given on the basis of applicant`s ability to contribute to Australia`s economy and offer their skills in a way that is most likely to benefit the country.

Because the whole skilled regional visa concept is based upon the fact that the country`s economy could benefit from the migrating skilled people.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *